BLACK SABBATH - Vol 4 - Super Deluxe Vinyl LP Record Set



Super Deluxe Edition Of The Band’s 1972 Classic Includes Newly Remastered Original Album Plus 20 Previously Unreleased Studio And Live Recordings.

Bolstered by a fresh remastering,Vol 4’s ambitious arrangements and complex grooves have never sounded more inspired and menacing. Originally released in September 1972, the album marked two major changes for the members of Sabbath: Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, and Bill Ward. While their previous albums – Black Sabbath, Paranoid, and Master of Reality – were produced by Rodger Bain and recorded in England, they instead chose to produce Vol 4 themselves and record it at the Record Plant in Los Angeles.

The generous addition of bonus material on VOL 4: SUPER DELUXE EDITION begins with six previously unreleased studio outtakes from the original sessions for the album. Each one has been newly mixed by Steven Wilson using the analog multi-tracks. Highlights include outtakes for “Supernaut” and “Changes,” as well an instrumental version of “Under The Sun.”

The set also features 11 additional studio recordings (also newly mixed by Wilson from the analog multi-tracks) that spotlight alternative takes, false starts and snippets of studio dialogue. These tracks transport listeners into the studio with the band and offer some insight into the making of the album. Along with several alternative takes for “Wheels Of Confusion,” these recordings also include outtakes for “The Straightener” and “Snowblind.”

The collection concludes with a searing collection of live performances that re-create a typical setlist from Black Sabbath’s tour forVol 4. Recorded in March 1973 at various stops along the band’s U.K. tour. The recordings were originally slated for a live album that was ultimately shelved. Although some of these performances have been previously available in various states, the release marks the first time that a full 1973 live Sabbath show has been recreated. The live audio has been newly mixed by Richard Digby Smith using the original 16-track analog tapes to achieve a level of fidelity not heard on any previous incarnations. Included here are thrilling live versions ofVol 4tracks (“Tomorrow’s Dream” and “Cornucopia”) and fan favorites (“Paranoid” and “War Pigs.”)

Black Sabbath - Vol. 4 (Super Deluxe Edition)(5LP)


- Side 1 -
1 Wheels of Confusion / the Straightener (2021 Remaster)
2 Tomorrow's Dream (2021 Remaster)
3 Changes (2021 Remaster)
4 FX (2021 Remaster)
5 Supernaut (2020 Remaster)

- Side 2 -
1 Snowblind (2021 Remaster)
2 Cornucopia (2021 Remaster)
3 Laguna Sunrise (2021 Remaster)
4 St. Vitus Dance (2021 Remaster)
5 Under the Sun / Every Day Comes and Goes (2021 Remaster)

- Side 3 -
1 Wheels of Confusion / the Straightener (Outtakes: Steven Wilson Mix) [2021 Remaster]
2 Changes (Outtakes: Steven Wilson Mix) [2021 Remaster]
3 Supernaut (Outtakes: Steven Wilson Mix) [2021 Remaster]
4 Snowblind (Outtakes: Steven Wilson Mix) [2021 Remaster]

- Side 4 -
1 Laguna Sunrise (Outtakes: Steven Wilson Mix) [2021 Remaster]
2 Under the Sun (Outtakes: Steven Wilson Instrumental Mix) [2021 Remaster]
3 Wheels of Confusion (False Start with Studio Dialogue) [2021 Remaster]
4 Wheels of Confusion (Alternative Take 1) [2021 Remaster]
5 Wheels of Confusion (Alternative Take 2) [2021 Remaster]
6 Wheels of Confusion (Alternative Take 3) [2021 Remaster]

- Side 5 -
1 Wheels of Confusion (Alternative Take 4) [2021 Remaster]
2 The Straightener (Outtake) [2021 Remaster]
3 Snowblind (Alternative Take 1) [2021 Remaster]
4 Supernaut (Outtake) [2021 Remaster]

- Side 6 -
1 Supernaut (Alternative Takes with False Starts) [2021 Remaster]
2 Under the Sun (False Start with Studio Dialogue) [2021 Remaster]
3 Under the Sun (Alternative Take with Guide Vocal) [2021 Remaster]

- Side 7 -
1 Tomorrow's Dream (Live in the UK 1973) [Richard Digby Smith Mix]
2 Sweet Leaf (Live in the UK 1973) [Richard Digby Smith Mix]
3 War Pigs (Live in the UK 1973) [Richard Digby Smith Mix]

- Side 8 -
1 Snowblind (Live in the UK 1973) [Richard Digby Smith Mix]
2 Killing Yourself to Live (Live in the UK 1973) [Richard Digby Smith Mix]
3 Cornucopia (Live in the UK 1973) [Richard Digby Smith Mix]

- Side 9 -
1 Wicked World (Live in the UK 1973) [Richard Digby Smith Mix]

- Side 10 -
1 Supernaut (Live in the UK 1973) [Richard Digby Smith Mix]
2 Wicked World (Reprise) [Live in the UK 1973] [Richard Digby Smith Mix]
3 Embryo (Live in the UK 1973) [Richard Digby Smith Mix]
4 Children of the Grave (Live in the UK 1973) [Richard Digby Smith Mix]
5 Paranoid (Live in the UK 1973) [Richard Digby Smith Mix]


Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed