STONE FREE - A Tribute To Jimi Hendrix - CLEAR Vinyl LP Record




Stone Free: A Tribute to Jimi Hendrix is a 1993 album recorded by various artists in tribute to Jimi Hendrix. The artists were drawn from many genres of popular music. Contributors include his classic rock contemporaries Eric Clapton and Jeff Beck, blues man Buddy Guy, classical violinist Nigel Kennedy, alternative pop/rock bands Belly and Spin Doctors, hip hop artists P. M. Dawn, among others. According to the liner notes, the "artists were encouraged to not only record one of their own personal favorites but to also place their stamp on Jimi's songs." Several artists recorded radically different interpretations, particularly, P. M. Dawn, The Cure, Nigel Kennedy and Pat Metheny. Some artists, on the other hand, recorded versions that were rather similar to the originals.

The band M.A.C.C. is made up of Mike McCready (guitarist from Pearl Jam), Jeff Ament (bassist from Pearl Jam), Matt Cameron (drummer for Soundgarden and later for Pearl Jam), and Chris Cornell (singer of Soundgarden and later Audioslave). The cover of "Hey Baby (Land of the New Rising Sun)" is their only known recording. All four members of this group had previously worked together on the Temple of the Dog project, and the song "Hey Baby (Land of the New Rising Sun)" was added to Temple of the Dog's live set in 2016.

Eric Clapton's backing group on the title track includes the three original core members of Chic (Nile Rodgers, Bernard Edwards and Tony Thompson) and is the last recording on which all three played together.


1. The Cure - "Purple Haze"

2. Eric Clapton - "Stone Free"
3. Spin Doctors - "Spanish Castle Magic"
4. Buddy Guy - "Red House"
5. Body Count - "Hey Joe"
6. Seal - "Manic Depression (with Jeff Beck)"
7. Jimi Hendrix Tribute - "Fire"
8. The Pretenders - "Bold as Love"
9. P.M. Dawn - "You Got Me Floatin’"
10. Slash, Paul Rodgers & Band of Gypsys - "I Don’t Live Today"
11. Belly - "Are You Experienced?"
12. Living Colour - "Crosstown Traffic"
13. Pat Metheny - "Third Stone from the Sun"
14. M.A.C.C - "Hey Baby (Land of the New Rising Sun)"


Barcode and Other Identifiers:

Barcode 093624895268
Barcode 0 93624 89526 8



Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed